Friday, May 29, 2009

Around and around we go

Had the chance on Wednesday night to run with a team of my husband's co-workers for a corporate YMCA fundraising 5k relay. His company of about 200 workers got 40 odd people out to walk or run. One guy ran his first 5 k ever, another co-worker, having lost quite a bit of weight ran his first race as well with a very respectable time.

The most fun had to be watching the 2 very competitive teams (4 person each) keeping tabs on the other teams times. I'm not sure how much cash was riding on the results or if it was just bragging rights but it was intense.

Race ended with beer and dinner in a pub. Adult onset athleticism washed down with red wine.

Thursday, May 14, 2009

Might as well jump in. I've been checking out the other members of Ironmanarizona2009 and see what Molly posted. I'm going to start with the 8 things.

8 things I'm looking forward to:

1. Joy Division/New Order themed spin class tonight
2. My husband returning on Friday from out west
3. Seeing my dog tonight and everynight
4. Poached eggs on toast with a side of rappini for dinner
5. My first triathlon of the year in July
6. Surprising an old friend at her first duathlon in June
7. The experience of completing an Ironman, the training, the races leading up to it, meeting people, the extra food I get to eat
8. The rest of my life.

8 things I did yesterday:

1. Ran 10 k
2. Swam 1050 yards
3. Got a great night sleep
4. Laughed with co-workers
5. Talked gardening with my neighbour
6. Cleaned the bathroom
7. Cleaned the kitchen
8. Felt happy to be alive.

8 things I would like to/will do:

1. Loose 15 pounds training, keep off 10
2. Go sub 16 at Ironman Arizona
3. Run the 50k race in Iceland
4. Sell our used bikes soon.
5. Get back to being paid performance for our accounts because our clients will have their portfolios restored - a win/win situation
6. Grow a bunch of our own food this year
7. Finish our new cabin at the lake, see #5
8. Continue a life of triathlon combined with adult beverages.

8 shows I watch:

1. Nature
2. Nova
3. John Stewart
4. Anything with Anthony Bourdain
5. Torchwood
6. Battlestar Galactica
7. How I met your mother
8. The news

Don't know anyone really to tag yet, but if you've read this leave me your blog address and alway we go.
Quick bio - 44 years old (45 on the 20th - new age group), married 10 years to Alex with small hairy child subsitute dog named Chindi. Alex also does tris and is doing Arizona with me. If we could get a bike for Chindi she'd be all over racing too. She swims like a fish, runs like Lisa Bentley.

We live in downtown Toronto, I work in an investment dealer and Alex works for a large software company.

We both came late to athleticism starting with a tri a try in 2005. I've been through the wringer with anxiety and panic attacks in training and racing (esp in the water) but have come out the other end a better person. If anyone is going through that with open water I'm happy to pass on my experience and the tips that work for me.

Outside of racing and training I'm getting into vegetable gardening and cheesemaking. We like eating - hence the training and racing.